Update 3.23.2020

Update 3.23.20

The WCSD Administrative Team met today to develop plans to support students. Here are some important updates:

Learning: Educational opportunities will be communicated by each teacher by Friday (3.27.20) afternoon. The communication will include suggestions on how to continue and extend learning with your child. We will not be able to provide direct services to students but rather resources to support their continued learning. The opportunities will not be graded. You can expect at least a weekly communication from each teacher your child was assigned during 3rd term.

Internet Access: Any school issued device may utilize school wi-fi by parking near a school building. Wi-fi will be open 24/7.

Technology, Instruments and WHS Art/Tech/FCS Projects: If you need your school issued laptop, please email Matt Pudenz (mpudenz@winterset.k12.ia.us) If you would like to retrieve your instrument from the band room, please email your band instructor Mr. Petersen lpetersen@winterset.k12.ia.us, Mr. Gibson dgibson@winterset.k12.ia.us or Mrs. Willis vwillis@winterset.k12.ia.us If you are a WHS Art, Industrial Tech, or FCS student needing to collect a project and/or supplies, please email Mrs. Hoefing at khoefing@winterset.k12.ia.us, Mr. Leonard at pleonard@winterset.k12.ia.us, Mr. Hehnke at mhehnke@winterset.k12.ia.us, or Mrs. Mapes at jmapes@winterset.k12.ia.us. Computers, instruments, art supplies and materials and industrial tech and FCS projects and materials will be picked-up at the Administration building. We will correspond with you about pick-up dates and times.

Individual Education Program (IEP) Meetings: Parents will be contacted by special education teachers to discuss options available.

3rd Term Grades and Finals (WHS): If students return in April, there will be a 1 week grace period to complete missing work or work that was due prior to Spring Break, before grades are posted. Finals at WHS for 3rd term have been cancelled.

WHS Students Enrolled in Dual Courses (WHS): Teachers will communicate to students enrolled in DMACC courses with the intention that students will work to complete their DMACC credits.

Seniors: A counselor will contact you to review your credits and course completions.

Events Postponed: After April 1 we should have a better idea of the length of school shutdowns. We will reassess the situation and communicate event reschedule dates at that time, if appropriate.

Stay Updated: The district website will be updated as new information is made available. Infinite Campus messages will be sent, as necessary.

Questions: Do not hesitate to reach out to the administration if you have questions. We will work to support you as much as possible.